As an Engineering Student

I should have started this engineering study “diary” from the start of my academic year, but I never had a chance, or perhaps too busy procrastinating. Now, I am already a third engineering student, so I guess is time for me to start recording down all these “interesting” engineering student life. Better late than never ~~

As an engineering student for almost four years, I still keep on asking the same question to myself, why am I come to university and study engineering ? Is it because of self interest on the subject or just because “Engineer” sound cool and MIGHT have a pretty decent salary. So far, the latter one is most probably the answer.

When I was a young and “blank” kid, I like to break things into pieces to have a look what is inside. As I get older, building models had becoming one of my favourite free time activity and looking at cars or any kind of machine that I can get my hand on it. By looking at those points, I had told myself engineering is the field I’m going to dedicate my time into and possibly building something to improve this world. Without knowing anyone who work in engineering industry or what happen in the engineering industry, I have chosen to study Mechanical Engineering in UK. “Engineering is a very hard subject and you should be proud for taking this subject” that’s what people around me always told me and I am indeed proud, but at the same time questioning myself what am I proud of ?

First and second year passed so fast that I can’t even remember what I have learned and that is not a joke, because this is actually true. Third year has come and here I am, sitting in my room and writing on this blog instead of studying the material on this morning lecture or starting the assignment that due on the second week. However, the truth is I have been spending all day in the computer workstation to work on my individual project, which is to build a bioreactor for tissue engineering. Now, you might wondering “why the hell you are building a bioreactor ? where is this “bio” come from, never seen you mentioned before? and tissue engineering ? Are you changing your course ?” The answer is no, this is just a project that I have been assigned for and yes I have totally no clue on what am I going to do with this project, because I have not been touching anything that related to biology for almost my entire uni years. After those agonising struggling and head stretching days and night, I started reading journal papers about bioreactor, which I always thought only those people who take their shit too serious will read a journal paper about one stuff with a shit lot of “overkill” detail description. Interestingly, those overly detailed descriptions have provided me some knowledge that will help on the project.

Now, I am at the designing stage and it is way too under schedule for my original plan, which is too smooth to be true anywhere. One thing I have come up with so far is that I actually have’t applied any first or second year’s knowledge on this project and I am able to move on and proceed. This is a sad truth, it feels like all the stuff I have learned from previous year are useless, but they suppose to be my tool, which can’t be used on the project at all. Moreover, it also makes me feel like if someone did spend their time on internet to research on this project related information, they will also be able to do this project without attending an expensive university all the way in UK.

So why am I here ? am i come here to learn something that is beneficial for my future or I am just here for the certificate ? is the struggling experience the only thing I can get from this University ? or am I the one who need to be blamed ?

Please, if you have the answer, I need it

Leave a Reply

